News Update: Enevate Named as CES 2016 Innovation Awards Honoree in Multiple Categories


Dr. Benjamin Park
Founder & Chief Technology Officer

Dr. Benjamin Park co-founded Enevate in 2005 (originally as Carbon Micro Battery) and is an expert in the areas of novel carbon manufacturing techniques, battery materials screening and development, and battery chemistry. As CTO of Enevate, he is currently leading the battery development effort. He has authored over 25 technical journal and conference publications. Ben holds a PhD in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from the University of California, Irvine, an MS in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University, and a BS in Electrical Engineering from Seoul University in Korea.

Dr. John Goodenough

Dr. John Bannister Goodenough is a recent recipient in 2013 of the United States National Medal of Science, and holder of the Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. After graduation from Yale University in Mathematics, he served (1942-1948) in World War II as a meteorologist. In 1952, he received a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Chicago.
From 1952-1976, he was a research scientist and Group Leader at the MIT Lincoln Laboratory where his contributions to realization of the first random-access memory of the digital computer led him into the field of the electronic and magnetic properties of transition-metal oxides. In 1976 he was called to be Professor and Head of the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory at the University of Oxford, England, where he turned his attention to electrochemistry; there he developed the cathode materials for the Lithium batteries that have powered the wireless revolution. On his return in 1986 to the U.S. in Texas, he has brought together his fundamental studies of electronic and magnetic properties of transition-metal oxides and his development of materials for energy-related technologies.
His honors and awards also include: Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) Centenary Lecturer (1975) and Solid State Chemistry Prize (1980); Von Hippel Award of the Materials Research Society (1989); John Bardeen Award of the Mining, Metallurgy, and Materials Society (1997); Olin Palladium Award of the Electrochemical Society (1999); Laureate of the Japan Prize (2001); and Enrico Fermi Award of the Department of Energy (2009). He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and a Foreign Associate of L’Académie des Sciences de l’Institut de France, Academia de Ciencias Exacts, Fisicas y Naturales of Spain, and the Indian Academy of Sciences. He is Docteur Honoris Causa of the Universities of Bordeaux, France, and Santiago de Compostela, Spain.

Dr. Yevgen Barsukov

Dr. Yevgen Barsukov is the head of the algorithm development in the battery management group at Texas Instruments Incorporated (TI). By applying leading theoretical methods of battery analysis, Yevgen is advancing battery fuel-gauging, health and safety technology used in notebooks, mobile-phones, PDAs and other portable devices.
Prior to joining TI, his research was focused on Impedance Spectroscopy based testing and modeling of batteries. He co-authored a book on impedance spectroscopy, multiple patents and journal publications and has presented in numerous international conferences. Yevgen earned a Ms.C. degree in Organic Chemistry at Kiev National University and a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from Kiel Christian-Albrecht University.


Dr. Marc Madou

Dr. Marc Madou is one of the founders of Enevate.  He is currently a Chancellor's Professor at the University of California, Irvine, Distinguished Honorary Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology in Kanpur, India, Honorary Visiting Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology in Kharagpur, India, and Visiting Professor at the University of Science and Technology, South Korea.  The fundamental ideas for shaping carbon structures were developed in Dr. Madou's lab.
Amongst many other achievements, he founded and managed the microsensor program at SRI International, was Vice Chairman and Founder of Teknekron Sensor Development Corporation, Visiting Miller Professor at UC Berkely, Vice President of Advanced Technology at Nanogen, and is an associate at the NASA Ames Research Center. Marc is the author of 3 editions of one of the most widely read books in MEMS: Fundamentals of Microfabrication and is the author of 8 books, 18 chapters, more than 330 journal and conference papers, and editor of 8 books. He received his PhD in Semiconductor Electrochemistry from the Rijksuniversiteit in Ghent, Belgium.


Dr. Kim Kinoshita

Dr. Kim Kinoshita has served for many years at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and SRI International. His research focused on electrochemical technology relevant to batteries and fuel cells, carbon surface chemistry and electrocatalysis. He is the author of numerous technical articles and 2 books (John Wiley Publisher): Electrochemical Oxygen Technology and Carbon – Physicochemical and Electrochemical Properties. After his retirement from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Kim served as a consultant to a major electric utility and auto company on fuel cells and Li-ion batteries, as well as with several startup companies. He is a co-founder and former Chief Scientist of EnerVault Corporation in Sunnyvale CA, which is developing large-scale stationary battery storage for renewable energy sources such as solar and wind. Kim is also a co-founder of SF BayLEAFs, which is a non-profit organization that is involved with promoting and educating the public on electric vehicles, with the primary focus on the Nissan LEAF EV. Kim received his PhD in Electrochemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, and BSc in Chemistry from the University of Alberta in Canada.