Advisory Board

John Bannister Goodenough

John Bannister Goodenough, PhD

Dr. Goodenough holds the Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin and is a recipient of the 2013 National Medal of Science.

After graduation from Yale University in 1944 with a bachelor’s degree in mathematics, Dr. Goodenough served in World War II as a meteorologist. In 1952, he received a master’s and PhD in physics from the University of Chicago.

From then until 1976, he was a research scientist and group leader at MIT’s Lincoln Laboratory where his contributions to realization of the first random-access memory of the digital computer led him into the field of the electronic and magnetic properties of transition-metal oxides. In 1976, he joined the University of Oxford, England as professor and head of the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory where he turned his attention to electrochemistry. While at Oxford, he developed the cathode materials for the lithium-ion batteries that would eventually power the wireless revolution.

He then joined the University of Texas at Austin in 1986, where he brought together his fundamental studies of electronic and magnetic properties of transition-metal oxides with his development of materials for energy-related technologies.

His honors and awards include: Royal Society of Chemistry (UK) Centenary Lecturer (1975) and Solid State Chemistry Prize (1980); Von Hippel Award of the Materials Research Society (1989); John Bardeen Award of the Mining, Metallurgy, and Materials Society (1997); Olin Palladium Award of the Electrochemical Society (1999); Laureate of the Japan Prize (2001); and Enrico Fermi Award of the Department of Energy (2009).

He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and a Foreign Associate of L’Académie des Sciences de l’Institut de France, Academia de Ciencias Exacts, Fisicas y Naturales of Spain, and the Indian Academy of Sciences. He is Docteur Honoris Causa of the Universities of Bordeaux, France, and Santiago de Compostela, Spain.

Steve Altman

Steve Altman

Mr. Altman served as a member of Qualcomm’s Executive Committee for nearly 15 years, providing direction and guidance on the overall company vision and strategy. He was employed by Qualcomm Incorporated from 1989 to January 2014, at which time he retired from the company. At the time of his retirement, he was Vice Chairman of Qualcomm. Mr. Altman also served as President of Qualcomm from July 2005 to November 2011. Mr. Altman is considered the chief architect of Qualcomm’s strategy for licensing its broad intellectual property portfolio for wireless communications. His leadership in developing the licensing strategy of Qualcomm’s broad wireless communications intellectual property portfolio resulted in accelerating the growth of CDMA technology. Under Altman’s leadership, Qualcomm entered into domestic and international licensing with some of the world’s largest telecommunications and electronics companies.

Mr. Altman holds a B.S. degree in Police Science and Administration from Northern Arizona University and a J.D. degree from the University of San Diego School of Law. Mr. Altman serves on the board of Dexcom, Inc. [NASDAQ Symbol: DXCM] and on the boards of several private companies, including ViaCyte, Inc. Mr. Altman also serves as Chairman of the University of California at San Diego Health Sciences Leadership Board.

Yevgen Barsukov

Yevgen Barsukov, PhD

Dr. Barsukov is the head of the algorithm development in the battery management group at Texas Instruments Incorporated (TI). By applying leading theoretical methods of battery analysis, Yevgen is advancing battery fuel-gauging, health and safety technology used in notebooks, mobile phones, PDAs and other portable devices. Prior to joining TI, his research was focused on impedance spectroscopy based testing and modeling of batteries. He co-authored books on impedance spectroscopy and on battery power management, multiple patents and journal publications and has presented in numerous international conferences. He was recently elected TI Fellow.

Barsukov earned a Ms.C. degree in Organic Chemistry at Kiev National University in 1993 and a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from Kiel Christian-Albrecht University in 1996.

Marc Madou

Marc Madou, PhD

Dr. Madou is one of the founders of Enevate. He is currently a Chancellor’s Professor at the University of California, Irvine, Distinguished Honorary Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology in Kanpur, India, Honorary Visiting Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology in Kharagpur, India, and Visiting Professor at the University of Science and Technology, South Korea. He was recently inducted into the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) as a Fellow, an honor reserved for academic inventors and innovators who have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society. The fundamental ideas for shaping carbon structures were developed in Dr. Madou’s lab.

He also founded and managed the microsensor program at SRI International and was vice chairman and founder of Teknekron Sensor Development Corporation, Visiting Miller Professor at UC Berkely, vice president of Advanced Technology at Nanogen, and is an associate at the NASA Ames Research Center. Madou has authored three editions of one of the most widely read books on MEMS—Fundamentals of Microfabrication and Nanotechnology—and is the author of eight books, 18 chapters, and more than 330 journal and conference papers as well as the editor of eight books. He received his PhD in semiconductor electrochemistry from the Rijksuniversiteit in Ghent, Belgium.

Kim Kinoshita

Kim Kinoshita, PhD

Dr. Kinoshita served for many years at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and SRI International. His research focused on electrochemical technology relevant to batteries and fuel cells, carbon surface chemistry and electrocatalysis. He has written numerous technical articles and two books—Carbon: Electrochemical and Physicochemical Properties and Electrochemical Oxygen Technology. After his retirement from Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Dr. Kinoshita served as a consultant on fuel cells and Li-ion batteries to a major electric utility, an auto company, and several startup companies. He is a co-founder and former chief scientist of EnerVault Corporation in Sunnyvale CA, which is developing large-scale stationary battery storage for renewable energy sources, such as solar and wind. He also co-founded SF BayLEAFs, a non-profit organization that is involved with promoting and educating the public on electric vehicles with the primary focus on the Nissan LEAF EV.

Dr. Kinoshita received his PhD in electrochemistry from the University of California, Berkeley and a BSc in chemistry from the University of Alberta in Canada.

Download Enevate’s Technical Infographic as presented by Dr. Benjamin Park
at the 2017 International Conference on Advanced Lithium Batteries
for Automobile Applications (ABAA-10)